Opinion

The New Normal

Monday, February 17, 2014

I have delayed my usual beginning of the year prognostication for a number of reasons. I spend a lot of time speaking to individual appraisers as well as clients of appraisers -- both lenders and AMCs. There are indeed some common threads and of course there are the looming regulatory hairballs that affect us all. I also wanted to review the responses to the Appraisal Buzz National Appraiser Survey to which, by the way, it isn't too late to respond.

Full Body Search Required for Approval

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I remember a time in the world, pre HVCC, when I would drive around to mortgage offices.  I would stop in, introduce myself to every loan officer and staff member, hand out my business cards, and ask them to give me a try.  I would repeat this pattern every week after that until they decided to give me a try.  That was then and this is now...

Are Alternative Valuation Products a Real Alternative?

Wednesday, February 12, 2014

On February 26th, Allterra Group is hosting a special webinar on alternative valuation and its usefulness in the appraisal industry. The Webinar will be moderated by John McIntyre and presented by Tony Pistilli of Axios Valuation Solutions and Greg Stephens of Metro-West Appraisal Co., LLC. This will be a great opportunity for appraisers to learn more about how alternative valuation affects their appraisal business. We were lucky enough to be able to ask the presenters a few questions about the upcoming webinar here's what they had to say.

Is it Time to Give up on Appraising?

Monday, February 3, 2014

Remember the good old days? Like me, you probably worked for multiple banks and local lenders. You had a steady volume of appraisal work coming in and got paid well for what you did. A typical appraisal consisted of three or four comparables, there was no MC Addendum, and revision requests were few and actually pertinent to the assignment. Ahhh, that was the life!

Application of UAD Quality and Condition Definitions

Monday, January 27, 2014

It has been almost three years since the Uniform Appraisal Dataset (UAD) was formally announced by Government Sponsored Enterprises (GSEs) Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. The first version of Appendix D outlining field-specific standardization requirements was dated February 11, 2011. This guide detailed specific formats and responses for certain fields of the four major residential appraisal report forms.

RIP Appraisal Advisor

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

It is with a good deal of lament that I am writing this post. I opened my email this morning to see an announcement from Appraisal Advisor (AA) stating that they that would be ceasing operation as of February 1, 2014. For those that did not know about them, they were, to my knowledge, the only source for appraisers to post reviews about working with Appraisal Management Companies (AMCs). AA also developed credit ratings based on appraiser reviews of working with each rated AMC.

Compliance: What Appraisers and Lenders Need to Know

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Changes in 2014 make it a pivotal year in appraising. Lender compliance emanating from the Dodd Frank Act will impact appraisal function considerably. How appraisals will be assigned, how they will be delivered and how they will be reviewed is changing both for lenders and appraisers. The answers to these "how" questions are emerging through technology innovation and the collaborative efforts of leaders in both the financial institution and appraiser communities who are seeking effective solutions.